- This event has passed.
August 15, 2020 @ 4:00 pm - 8:00 pm$120.00
The Maryland HQL training requirement can be satisfied either as a stand-alone HQL course, or as part of a basic instructional class that we teach. In the HQL class you will learn the following: 1. Learning the basics of firearm safety, handling, storage, function and a practical application to demonstrate that you can safely operate a firearm in compliance with the Maryland State requirement. 2. Learning the Maryland laws pertaining to such use. I will also be there to help you navigate the system to complete the registration process.
Fee for this course is $115 and includes course materials, firearm and ammunition. You will get a step by step outline on how to complete your HQL as well as a copy of all Maryland Laws covered in the Legal Brief. While the Maryland requirement is for you to safely fire 1 shot, we strongly disagree that this reflects proficiency. In our class you will actually learn to shoot and spend more time on the range safely loading, unloading, and shooting. We have a 35 round course of fire with a variety of setups in a safe and private environment! (FBS Range safety card is required and is available the day of your course) We have several past students who have already obtained the HQL, but take this class for the Basic Pistol training!
We often get asked how our course is different than other places, the easy answer is that we have elected a format that is shooting based. Most places teach this in almost a purely lecture format, but with us you can expect to spend at least half of the class on the range and I promise to keep the Power Points to a minimum! We also adhere to the Maryland Law which states we have to teach this class in a 1 to 5 instructor to student ratio.
In addition to a pure HQL course, we offer several other courses which satisfy the first portion of this requirement. NRA Basic Pistol, NRA First Steps, NRA Women On Target and Introduction to Centerfire Handguns. We will be offering the Maryland Legal brief at the end of those classes, or you can schedule to take it at a later time.
These requirements should not be cumbersome and they set a minimal standard of proficiency…we want to make it enjoyable for you to comply with the Maryland State Laws, as well as help to make you a more educated gun owner. Because Maryland only requires a minimal standard, we STRONGLY recommend that you continue to learn and train, with us or any reputable and licensed instructor to further your knowledge and proficiency with firearms. Shooting is a perishable skill!
Exceptions to possession of the HQL License:
1. A Licensed Firearms Manufacturer.
2. Active law enforcement officer or a person retired in good standing from a law enforcement agency of the United States (Federal Law Enforcement), the State, or a local law enforcement agency of the State.
3. Active or retired member of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard and possesses a valid military identification card.
4. A person purchasing, renting or receiving an antique, curio or relic as defined in federal law.
5. Maryland licensed firearms dealers. (Sole Proprietors)
Required to have the HQL, but exempt from the training component:
1. Someone who completed a firearms safety training course approved by the Secretary of the Department of Maryland State Police.
2. Has completed a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms as prescribed under Natural Resources Article, §10-301.1, Annotated Code of Maryland. Application for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources Hunter Safety Course Certificate can be obtained from here and may be used in lieu of Qualified Handgun Instruction.
3. Is currently a qualified handgun instructor.
4. Is an honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States or National Guard.
5. Is an employee of an armored car company who has a handgun permit issued by MSP.
6. Lawfully owns a regulated firearm, you do not have to complete the training to apply for the Handgun Qualification License. Meaning: You lawfully owned a regulated firearm in the state of Maryland prior to October 1st 2013, and are willing to use the serial number of that firearm to show training exemption.
1. If you require the 4 hour training course, then your first step will be to go to the registration tab and sign up for an upcoming HQL course.
2. If you are exempted from the training course or have taken the training course, then your next step will be to get your “livescan” fingerprints done. Your local Sheriffs office can provide this service by appointment. Most Sheriffs offices charge $49.50, require cash and don’t offer change. Once you have your livescan prints you must apply for your HQL as the prints will only be held in the system for 30 days!
3. Go to the MDSP webpage, and create an account and apply online for the HQL. Once your application is submitted, the average processing time is 2-3 weeks. If you take our course you will be given step by step instructions on how to complete the application…they don’t make it easy!